Self-Publishing Tools: PagePlus

pageplus-copy

I just finished a three-week desktop publishing class at a local community college that introduced me to Serif Software’s PagePlus X8.  I have to say, this was one of the best investments I ever made in my writing career.  For starters, I can now format my own online manuscript files, a task once assigned to outside contractors because the only  conversion procedures I knew of proved too complicated and time consuming.  But it doesn’t stop there.  This application also offers a sophisticated and powerful photo editing package that allows you to enhance your photographs or convert them to resemble hand-drawn illustrations, sketches, or oil paintings, among other things.  You can also use it to create your own original illustrations.

Three weeks of class time barely scratched the surface of what this tool can do. Currently I am still familiarizing myself with all of the tools, which is 90% of mastering any software application.  In the coming weeks I will finish writing and editing the final book of my Dark Lords of Epthelion trilogy, entitled Castle of Blood.  After that book’s release (hopefully around Christmas) I will launch the first of my Timothy Wonder children’s books, self-illustrated using PagePlus.  As I go along, I will write posts concerning what I learn and how the tool works for me.  The more I use it, the more impressed I am with it.  And at $120.00 it is very reasonably priced.  I highly recommend PagePlus to anyone seeking a good desktop publisher.

Serif has since released PagePlus X9, which you can read about here.   

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

