Thanksgiving

1-thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Day is now behind us, but the thanksgiving spirit should always reside within us.  Too often we take our blessings for granted without considering we could lose them all in a moment.

For what do we give thanks?  Certainly liberty, religious freedom, our homes and families top the lists.  But this past weekend I gave the question some serious thought and realized that so much of what we consider just part of life are luxuries denied to millions of people.

One precious blessing I can never lose, and which is open to all who will come to Him:  Jesus Christ, God’s Son, my Lord and Savior, who came in the flesh, lived a sinless life, took my sin upon Himself and died for me, who rose again and now sits at God’s right hand.

A second precious blessing: My family–warm, loving, always there with help and encouragement and to help me put things back into perspective when I lose my way (which is pretty often!).

Other blessings:  My home, definitely not taken for granted.  I remember the tent settlements in city parks and the crowds huddled under blankets and sleeping bags at one downtown underpass.

Electricity.  99.99% of the time when I switch on a light it comes on.  Several million in the world don’t have any electricity at all.

Indoor plumbing.  Clean hot and cold running water right out of the tap.  Flush toilets.  My mom remembers chamber pots and the moonlit path to the little house with the crescent on the door.   Those relics from the past had all but vanished by the time I came along.  I don’t think I care to revisit that era.  These winter nights are cold!

Electric blankets.  Sure, you can crawl between cold sheets and pretty soon they warm up, but it is so nice when the bed is already toasty warm!

Safer gas and electric stoves.  I remember news stories concerning housewives badly burned while lighting kerosene stoves.

Well-stocked grocery stores.

This barely constitutes the tip of the iceberg and given time I’ll probably add to this list.  In the meantime, I give thanks for them every day.  Heavenly Father, open my eyes, my hands and my heart to those in need each day.

Leave a Reply

